We have on the blog finished write up on “Key Political Parties”, State wise projections and All India Projections for next Lok Sabha elections. Some readers have suggested that I should write something about the history of elections in India. Start from today a series on the same which will cover info. from 1st to 15th Lok Sabha. Pls suggest of topic you would like to see on the blog.


India gained independence in 1947 and Jawaharlal Nehru became the 1st Prime Minister of the country as he was the President of the Indian National Congress (INC) when India gained independence.  The 1st Lok Sabha elections were held in end of 1951 – beginning of 1952, after the term of Nehru ended.

14 national parties and 39 state parties along with independents fought for 401 constituencies (489 Lok Sabha seats). Uttar Pradesh has the highest no. of seats (86), followed by…

View original post 422 more words