After being snubbed by Congress, Nitish is now leading efforts to cobble together a Third Front. He has called upon  leaders of the erstwhile “Janata Party / Parivaar” to come together to take on the Congress and the BJP. Janata Party formed govt. in 1977 with Bhartiya Lok Dal and Bhartiya Jan Sangh (now BJP) as its alliance partners. People voted against Indira’s emergency measures. The govt. couldn’t last its full term due to internal conflicts and Indira came back to power in 1980.

Janata Party disintegrated into a number of smaller parties as their tall leaders fell apart due to their big egos. Janata Party became Janata Dal and Janata Dal further split into JD(A to Z). Regional satraps Mulayam Singh Yadav (Samajwadi Party), Ajit Singh (Rashtriya Lok Dal), Nitish Kumar (Janata Dal United), Naveen Patnaik (Biju Janata Dal), Deve Gowda (Janata Dal Secular), Lalu Yadav (Rashtriya Janata Dal)…

View original post 436 more words