JD(U) was formed in 1999 with the merger of Sharad Yadav faction of Janta Dal, George Fernandes led Samta Party and Ramkrishna Hegde’s Lokshakti party. The party has presence primarily in Bihar. It also has decent presence in Jharkhand because of legacy issues (Jharkhand was part of Bihar earlier). JDU has been running a government in Bihar along with BJP since 2005 with Nitish Kumar as Chief Minister. Recently in June 2013 the party split its 17 year old alliance with BJP due to Modi’s appointment as BJP’s election campaign head. With 20 seats it is the fifth largest party in current Lok Sabha.

After wooing Congress, JDU has joined Third Front. There has been some rebellion in the party due to its decision to part ways with BJP. It has had to expel 4 of its MPs recently. Party has two main factions – Sharad Yadav & Nitish Kumar faction. Nitish is…

View original post 229 more words