History of Elections: 2nd Lok Sabha (1957)


India gained independence in 1947 and Jawaharlal Nehru became the 1st Prime Minister of the country as he was the President of the Indian National Congress (INC) when India gained independence.  INC under Nehru won the 1st national elections held in 1952 (74% of total seats). Nehru led the Congress into the 2nd Lok Sabha elections held in 1957.


4 national parties and 11 state parties along with independents fought for 403 constituencies (494 Lok Sabha seats). Uttar Pradesh has the highest no. of seats (86), followed by Bombay  (66) and Bihar (53). While undivided UP and Bihar still have similar no. of seats, no. of seats of Bombay has reduced from 66 to now Maharashtra (48) as part of current Gujarat was part of Maharashtra then.

Congress was still the major political force in the country having given Indian independence from British. An important event which happened after the 1952 elections is…

View original post 292 more words


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s