Indian Politics & Elections Blog

North Eastern States

The 7 North Eastern (NE) states – Arunachal Pradesh (2), Manipur (2), Meghalaya (2), Mizoram (1), Nagaland (1), Sikkim (1) and Tripura (2) combined together send only 11 MPs to Lok Sabha and hence not a very important determinant of national govt. formation. Sorry my N.E. friends / readers, but that’s the sad state.

The region historically has voted for the Congress as no other national party has a significant presence here except Tripura. Tripura has been dominated by Left Front and it will continue to do so. Regional parties like Sikkim Democratic Front, Nagaland’s People Front also have a decent presence here.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: